Home > About > The Partners > University Partners > University of Dar es Salaam

University of Dar es Salaam

The University of Dar es Salaam (UDSM), was established in 1961 as an affiliate college of the University of London. In 1963 it became a constituent college of the university of East Africa together with Makerere University College in Uganda and Nairobi University College in Kenya. In 1970, through an Act of parliament, UDSM was established as an independent university.

The university has grown in terms of student intake, academic units and academic programmes since 1961, and is now known to be not only the oldest, but also the largest public university in Tanzania with approximately 20 000 students. UDSM offers Undergraduate and Postgraduate degrees, as well as Certification Programmes to students from Tanzania and from many other countries throughout the world. 

The ESEFA initiative at UDSM is being coordinated by the University of Dar es Salaam Business School (UDBS), located at UDSM and which came into existence in 2008 as a result of transforming the former Faculty of Commerce and Management (FCM), which was established in 1979. Measured by the strength of its staff in teaching, research and consultancy, plus the quality of undergraduate and postgraduate programmes, extensive training and consultancy in business, entrepreneurship and management, UDBS is one of the leading institutions in business and management research, teaching and consultancy in the Sub-Saharan region. 

Initially UDBS intends to integrate the ESEFA curricula into existing courses in the Department of Accounting and in the Department of General Management. The integrated Enterprise Systems (ES) curriculum will be taught in classroom seminar sessions using a practical hands-on approach where students will do exercises and workshops using the SAP ERP system, thereby learning about ES concepts and how they relate to their specific field of study.

Website Links

University of Dar es Salaam website: 

University of Dar es Salaam Business School:  

ESEFA coordinators 

Dr Tumsifu Elly:

Mr Victor Wilson: