Home > About > The Partners > University Partners > University of Botswana

University of Botswana

The University of Botswana (UB) was established on 1st July 1982 by an Act of Parliament.  It started off as part of the then University of Basutoland, Bechuanaland and Swaziland (UBBS) formed in 1963 and based in Lesotho.  UB is closely involved in the national development process of Botswana.  In this regard the special functions of the university are to engage in improving the quality and in expanding the quantity of the human resources needed for development, and to act as the repository of the collective knowledge and experience of the nation and the world through extensive research. 

The first of these functions is fulfilled through the teaching of programmes offered by UB and its affiliated institutions, leading to the award of degrees and diplomas. The university currently has approximately 20 000 students enrolled in its 7 different faculties.  The ESEFA curricula will add value to study programmes in the Faculty of Business, the Faculty of Engineering & Technology and the Faculty of Science, and potentially 8000 students from these faculties will be able to benefit from ES Fundamentals courses.

The objective is to start rolling out the ESEFA curricula at UB from January 2015.  The plan is to initially integrate the curriculum into existing courses in the Mechanical Engineering and Computer Science Departments, and to later on concurrently offer the ES Fundamentals short course to students from other departments and faculties who also require ES Fundamentals proficiency and exposure to working with a SAP ERP system.

By partnering with the ESEFA programme and joining the SAP University Alliances programme, UB intends to benefit from the opportunity to collaborate on many other SAP affiliated projects, leading to further curriculum development and review, as well as research projects related to Enterprise Systems, thereby further adding to the core mandate of what UB stands for.

Website Links

University of Botswana website:

Department of Mechanical Engineering:

Faculty of Engineering & Technology:

Department of Computer Science:

Faculty of Science:

Faculty of Business:

ESEFA coordinators

Mr Robert Monageng: 

Dr Audrey Masizana: