Home > About > The Partners > University Partners > Namibia University of Science and Technology

Namibia University of Science and Technology

The Namibia University of Science and Technology (NUST) is contributing to wealth creation through excellence in technology-oriented career and professional education and training, applied research and service. As an academic community, it continuously strives to produce enhanced economic utility through scholarly activities as expressed in discovering, preserving and applying knowledge.

The Institution, formerly known as Polytechnic of Namibia, was established in 1994 through an Act of Parliament and is situated in the heart of the City of Windhoek, Namibia. On 12 December 2012 Cabinet resolved that the Polytechnic should be renamed to the Namibia University of Science and Technology.

Currently, NUST has over 12 000 students studying on a full-time, part-time and distance education basis. It consists of 7 Schools/ Faculties namely, the Schools of Computing and Informatics, Engineering, Health and Applied Sciences, Human Sciences, Management Sciences, Natural Resources and Spatial Sciences and the Harold Pupkewitz Graduate School of Business.

The institution’s qualifications are nationally and internationally recognised through a rigorous development and approval process including benchmarking and quality assurance.

All its students are equipped with relevant computer skills and knowledge of information systems. The campus has wireless connections in strategic places enabling students to use their own computers to access the Student Kiosk, Webmail and Internet. With almost 2 000 computers available in Computer Labs all over the main campus and regional centres, students can use these facilities to quickly access the Internet between and after classes.

The ESEFA initiative at NUST is being co-ordinated by the Department of Informatics in the Faculty of Computing and Informatics. The Department of Marketing and Logistics in the Faculty of Management Sciences will also be participating in the ESEFA programme and both departments plan to start teaching the ES Fundamentals curriculum as from March 2015 by offering ES Fundamentals short courses and integrating the ESEFA curricula into existing study programmes in the Informatics/Business Computing and Marketing & Logistics disciplines.

Website Links

Namibia University of Science and Technology:

Department of Informatics:

Faculty of Computing and Informatics:

Department of Marketing & Logistics:

Faculty of Management Sciences:

ESEFA coordinators

Mr Johnson Billawer:

Dr Nobert Jere: